He belongs to CLPU since June 2012, when he becomes responsible of the laser oscillator unit. His research activities focus on development new laser sources, laser diagnostic and proton and electron acceleration in laser-driven applications.

Following undergraduate and graduate degrees in Physics at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM) he moved to Max-Planck-Institut für Mikrostrukturphysik in Halle (Germany) as Marie Curie Post-doctoral fellow, and Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie in Berlin (Germany) before returning to Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid – CSIC as a Ramón y Cajal Research Fellow. He was awarded the 2003 an Extraordinary Doctorate Prize (UAM).